4 Steps To Being Indispensable

One of the regular executive development sites that I follow (diligently) is Tim Tyrell-Smith‘s “Tim’s Strategy”. Over the past couple of years that I’ve had the pleasure of interacting with Tim, I’ve learned a lot. Not only just for my own job search process (that I’m in currently) but in developing myself further.Many of his tips and advice has reaped me good benefits in my independent consulting work, not to mention help me develop a strong online presence and a really good network (across Linked In and Twitter).

So today when I got this post– “4 Steps To Finesse a Career Change” by Andrew Neitlich. Andrew is co-author, with Guerrilla Marketing founder Jay Conrad Levinson, of Guerrilla Marketing for a Bulletproof Career. — my thoughts turned to a few of my network contacts who, like me, are in the midst of making a career change.

Reading this post, I saw, as usual, Tim’s provided (by getting this guest post from Andrew), a very simple process in moving the change process forward. But then reading it again, I found that the four steps are also applicable in every-day work and in self-development.

So here’s a snatch of the post and I’d really recommend you (since you’ve read this far) to click the link, visit Tim’s site and read the full post. And, I’d be happy to know what you feel, so feel free to put your comments here.

4 Steps to Finesse A Career Change post is reproduced with permission from Tim’s Strategy

“The following is a guest post from Andrew Neitlich. Andrew is co-author, with Guerrilla Marketing founder Jay Conrad Levinson, of Guerrilla Marketing for a Bulletproof Career.

Getting a job in a new industry, or changing your job function, is a common challenge. Following is a four-step process for you to follow if you want to make this kind of career change.

Step One: Assess your relationships and the value you provide. The grid below, from the book Guerrilla Marketing for a Bulletproof Career, presents a crucial way of thinking about your career.


The X-axis of the grid represents the degree of your expertise and the value you can provide with a specific functional or technical skill. The y-axis represents the value of your relationships to your career.

We all should have the goal of excelling on both dimensions of the grid, so that we offer great value and we have a bulletproof power base of contacts. That way, we are indispensable. We have great skills, and we know the people who can open up opportunities for us.

The closer you can get to being a “Double Spiker,” the easier it will be for you to finesse a change in industry or function. You will see why in a moment.

Two: Build on your strengths. Regardless of where you sit on the above grid, you have strengths that you can build on. Even if you are somewhere in the lower left corner of the grid, the “Sitting Duck,” you still know people and have some skills that you can bring to the market.

Click HERE for rest of the article