What your team says about you, says a lot about your Leadership

Team Reward B 2013
and Team reward 2013 The A-Team

Mon Aug 19, 2013:

This post is a special thank you to my team mates at work:

Thank you, Asmawi, Ainan, Baidura, Efie, Mulyadi & Normas for giving me the honour of leading you.

The day was a landmark day for me!

Whilst it was my birthday on the day, it was the day my team decided to give me feedback on my leadership.

<–Here’s their feedback…

Getting their feedback was excellent. Having invested time in teaching best practice standards and key work skills over the past two years, it was heartening to see how the team has grown in their competencies. Grown both, individually and professionally.

This is a team that now relishes tough deadlines, shoestring budgets and works as a team to deliver, monetary value and brand value to the organisation.

I decided to share this learning as an immediate example of how, as a leader, you can earn rewards that go far beyond the usual performance incentives. As a team leader, I’ve always believed that the best reward is learning that one has had a strong influence and impact on one’s team and aided that person to become improve him or herself.

That’s exactly what this great A-Team of mine has now played back to me!

Today this team evaluates each activity strategically and aligns the impact and end-result to benefit the key result areas of the organisation as they execute activities. They work in a standard project management style. A system that was non-existent two years ago.

It’s a long road that we’ve travelled as a team and as their team leader I’m proud to have the opportunity to be leading this fantastic team!

Thank you guys.

So what’s the learning here as a leader?

1.Empathy: The important ingredient in getting a team to jive and dance together is being empathetic. Understanding their cultural make-up, attitudes and habits and showing them how the recommended changes aid them helped in developing the team culture.

2. Trust: Rolling up my sleeves and working along them showed them leadership by example. Not just directing, but working with the team side-by-side, no matter how big or small the activity was, showed them the thinking required behind the activity, the project management standards to deliver on, the need to have an eye for detail, brought about trust. The team did fail in areas and that was expected. As their team leader, taking care of the failures and highlighting the achievements earned me their trust.

3. Coaching: Empowering the team to think through required initiatives, as a team, allowed me to develop my coaching skills. It helped in identifying the areas of individual development that team members needed, including areas of leadership development for myself.

So, what does your team say about your leadership?

Take feedback and  learn how your leadership is affecting them. After all leadership is not a one way street but a two-way emotional interaction.

Published by

Joy Abdullah

I create brand, financial and people value for an organization by linking its leadership, strategy, engagement and communications into one cohesive story.